Offering a fascinating insight into Colonial Tasmania, this historic site retains a beautiful 1834 tower with two courtrooms, virtually unchanged for more than 150 years, and the Hobart Gaol chapel restored to architect John Lee Archer’s original 1830s design.
Address: Cnr Brisbane & Campbell Streets, Hobart
Open: Pre-booked tours only. Sunday 12 November
Highlights: Underground tunnels, solitary confinement cells and gallows.
Tours: Pre-booked guided tours at 11 am and 1 pm. Bookings essential.
Building specs: Building type: Church and gaol, Year built: 1834–59, Architect: John Lee Archer