The Private Secretary’s Cottage is one of the oldest buildings in Tasmania – and in safe hands at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery. It is situated on a bank above a remnant of the original foreshore – the very site where the European settlement of Hobart began. The cottage may originally have been built as an outbuilding for the commissariat, and by the late 1820s was being used as a lumber store.
That prolific colonial architect John Lee Archer converted the building into a residence for Governor Arthur’s private secretary, providing a generous garden, views overlooking the harbour and proximity to the original Government House at present-day Franklin Square. The building was incorporated into the museum precinct in 1871, first as a residence for the curator and later for other staff. From the 1950s, it was used for offices and storage.
Many alterations have been made to the building. Look out for the cottage’s crooked northern wall, which was realigned in 1901, and the verandah removed to make way for the 1960s building. Inside, the cottage is being restored to its original form and showcases locally made furniture as well as some very early portable beds and tables.
Address: Dunn Place, Hobart (enter via TMAG)
Open: TBC: 10 am – 4 pm, Saturday 11 November
Highlights: Hobart’s oldest warehouse conversion
Building specs: Building Type: Cottage, Year Built: 1810s, Architect: John Lee Archer