This sandstone brewery and flour mill is thought to date from the 1850s, but there are sections that are probably much older.
Collins Street between Barrack and Molle Streets had been the site of the Government Mill since 1818; its sandstone wall on Barrack St still stands today. John Walker bought the site from the government in 1821, erecting a steam-powered flour mill in 1836, adding a brewery in 1845 and a woollen mill in 1850. After Walker’s death in the 1880s, Gibson’s took over the flour mill and Cascade the malt house. Locals might remember the building as Motors Garage, or have heard the stories about the grisly goings-on in the rivulet behind and the ghost who haunts the building.
Today it’s the offices of Clemenger Tasmania advertising agency and Inspiring Place landscape architects and you’ll get a look inside a sensitive warehouse conversion and a very unique boardroom.
Address: 210 Collins St, Hobart
Highlights: Rivulet view, historic malthouse
Building specs: Type: Malthouse. Year Built: 1850s. Architects: Unknown