This abandoned zoo once housed a wide variety of animals including lions, tigers, leopards, elephants, monkeys and polar bears, and is most notably remembered as the home of the last Thylacine in captivity. Originally opened in 1895 at the Battery Point residence of socialite Mary Grant Roberts, the zoo was moved to a new zoological facility operated by the Hobart City Council at the Queens Domain in 1923. Wander amongst the ruins of old animal enclosures at this fascinating site.
Address: Lower Domain Rd, Hobart
Highlights: Polar bear enclosure, leopard enclosure and duck pond
Building specs: Type: Zoological Gardens. Year Built: 1923. Architect: Unknown