Photographer: Fiona McMullen

The original 1870’s building was the homestead known as Straun House, which has experienced many iterations such as a hospital and nurses quarters, and since 1929, has housed the Launceston Supreme Court. Join supreme court judges, and architect Mike Wilkinson, on a unique guided tour of the highest court in the state, which includes underground tunnels and prisoner cells! This is an intriguing look backstage at Tasmania’s judicial system.

Download the full Open House Launceston PDF program here

Address: 116 Cameron St, Launceston

Open: Pre-booked tours only: 10am, 11am and 12noon, Saturday 7 September

Highlights: Working court rooms, holding cells.

Tours: Pre-booked tours only at 10am, 11am and 12noon. Bookings essential.

Building specs: Type: Court building. Built: 1870s.

Access details: Pram and wheelchair access only to sections of ground floor.

Book now

Newsletter